A Trip to Failaka Island

During the Eid holidays, we planned a trip to Failaka Island. After doing some research we found out about the Failaka Heritage Village package. They have a fairly decent arrangement and the boat ride itself is awesome. It takes about 50 minutes to get there and they have two nice  boats (Bint Al-Khair and Umm Al-Khair). I found the boats to be very comfortable and in this weather it was excellent to go on the deck and really enjoy the ride. It costs KD.13/adult and KD.9/child. Children under 2 years old go free. The package mainly consists of the ride to and fro and a lunch buffet. They leave at 10 am and return at 4 pm on Thu, Fri and Sat from the Marina Mall docks. For the remaining days its a 9 am departure and return at 5 pm.

View from the boat

View from the boat

Once you reach the island they pile you in a bus and take you to the ‘heritage village’. This is where they hand you the lunch coupons and they’ve got some interesting stuff going on there as well. You can roam around and you’ll find camel rides, fun activities for children, play areas for kids, a mini-zoo of sorts and a boat ride in a beautifully decorated, yet small lake.

If you come out of their premises you will notice that a lot of people are riding dune buggies. They rent them for KD.10/hour and its not too shabby. I’ve heard they also rent jet skis there but I didn’t explore enough to find them. They also rent out chalets if you plan on staying the night but personally I didn’t think there was enough action for a 24 hour trip.

The Boat

The boat after the trip

Rohail had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

I’d recommend people to try this out at least once because its a nice change from regular life here in Kuwait. I also got a chance to take a lot of pictures and try out my new Sony H50 camera. In fact, I’ve replaced the header image in my blog with a photo taken on this trip. Here’s the link to some more pictures.

16 Responses to “A Trip to Failaka Island”


  1. 1 Sara December 14, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    That looks pretty interesting. Will definitely look it up since its also the right weather these days.

  2. 2 Sajjad Naveed December 25, 2008 at 11:13 am

    Very nice review and also pictures are nice 🙂 How much travel time by Bint Al Khair?

  3. 4 merwyn October 31, 2011 at 9:16 am

    Dear Sabah, That was very informative. We were looking out for this type of detailed info just to be sure of things cause we’ve got three little children to take along.
    But I also wonder if there are small restaurants and shops at Failaka where one could eat.

  4. 5 Paşa Hanifa August 18, 2012 at 12:36 am

    Do we have to pay again for the camel rides, mini zoo and the other activities?

  5. 6 Michelle March 31, 2013 at 12:47 pm

    Where we can have reservation for Failaka Trip?

  6. 7 www.atlus.com May 12, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    Local, Affordable paphos car hire would like to go.

    Jogjakarta has plenty of active options to keep you
    saving money on other property options. Wide-scale villa and hotel development nearby means that the rates
    are lower. More general information and tips about paphos car hire,
    welcome to visit our paphos car hire Travel Super Link.

  7. 8 boiler May 16, 2013 at 5:54 am

    This article will help the internet visitors for
    creating new weblog or even a weblog from start to end.

  8. 9 bali villa July 8, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    Now I am going to do my breakfast, later than having
    my breakfast coming yet again to read more news.

  9. 10 Jackie April 26, 2014 at 10:01 am

    I spent a weekend in Failaka Resort 8 years ago and I wasn’t impressed with the accommodation facilities. I am back now, and sadly I can say it is the same. Dirty place, full of bugs of all kinds. Can’t wait to return home. I don’t recommend this place to any of my friends.

  10. 11 Booking.Goclickproperty.Com April 21, 2015 at 8:30 pm

    Anyone necessarily help to make really discussions I would point out. This is the first-time I actually seen your blog website and this point? I actually amazed while using research you have made to build this kind of post astonishing.. formosa gardens rentals Fantastic task!

  11. 12 foreversunnydays September 22, 2015 at 9:17 am

    Can I book a ticket or something?

  12. 13 Anna Wolf October 6, 2015 at 2:28 pm

    How can I book a ticket for Failaka???

  13. 15 Bandung volcano tour November 25, 2018 at 6:48 am

    That is a great tip especially to those new to the
    blogosphere. Simple but very precise info… Appreciate your sharing this one.
    A must read post!

  14. 16 nude February 6, 2020 at 7:01 am

    What’s up, I would like to subscribe for this webpage to obtain hottest updates, so where can i do it please assist.


Leave a comment




Who Am I?

A Pakistani living and working in Kuwait who enjoys movies, gadgets, photography, technology, cars and a good book. This blog is all about things that interest me and what is going on in My Life.

Latest Photos

RSS Top Movies

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

My Bookmarks

Calendar Archives

December 2008
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031