Sabah Hussain, PMP

Last week I finally got the PMP (Project Management Professional) certification! I made this decision early 2007 but at the time I wanted to go for the CAPM (Certified Associate PM) first, which is basically PMP Lite. However, after going through multiple on/off phases to study; I made a decision last year to go directly for the PMP. Once again I found myself studying a few weeks and then slacking off and the thing with the PMP is that you need to focus on it in a dedicated mode and then appear for the exam soon after (that’s what I feel anyway).

I scheduled my exam for last week and then started going through the course material, I used a couple of books and the sample questions at the end of each chapter were very helpful. Maliha also helped me to go through the questions and revise.

I thought theย  exam itself was pretty tough and even though you only need to get 61% of the questions right out of 175 within 4 hours; its extremely difficult to single out the ‘more’ correct answer out of the four provided (its computer based and multiple-choice oriented) unless you’ve gone over the concepts and material thoroughly. There are also 25 additional pre-release questions that do not count towards your score but you don’t know which ones they are.

Needless to say I felt ecstatic the moment the screen displayed my passing status. Now I need to make sure that I apply what I’ve learnt in my job.

Since passing I’ve celebrated by watching 25th Hour, Body of Lies, Gran Torino and Killshot! All of them pretty good and recommended movies. Next on my list is Crossing Over.

9 Responses to “Sabah Hussain, PMP”


  1. 1 buWaleed June 20, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    congratulation on your achievement Sabah. and hopefully it will be a beneficial certificate for your career.
    Could you please give me the name of the books that you were studying with?

  2. 2 Umer Iqbal June 20, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    Congratulations Sabah.
    Same questions here. Recommend the books and the way to go about prep plz!
    I have been lazy about it for over two months now, and want to get done with it soon.

  3. 3 Sabah Hussain June 20, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    Thanks a lot guys! Sure, here’s the list of books and some advice:

    PMP Project Management Professional Study Guide (McGraw-Hill) – studied thoroughly!

    Rita PMP Exam Prep, 5th Edition – used as reference.

    OReilly Head-first PMP – used as reference, it has quite a refreshing and humorous approach

    PMBOK 3rd Edition – used as reference.

    I also listened to some PMP audio prep-casts while driving to and from work.

    Keep in mind, if you are giving the exam after June 2009; you need to get the PMBOK 4th Edition and be aware of the differences with the previous edition.

    Make sure you learn all the mathematical formulas (there are quite a few questions on them and you can get them 100% right). Personally, I didn’t really learn all the inputs/outputs and tools and techniques, and that put me at a disadvantage on a few questions, but I had to accept it.

    Also, once you start the exam; utilize the first 15 minutes of the exam overview to dump all the formulas and things you don’t want to forget on paper (its called a brain-dump).

    Finally, I would advise you to apply and schedule your exam and then just aim for it. Otherwise you will find yourself procrastinating. In case you are still not ready, you can always reschedule the exam (at least 48 hours before its due, but make sure you give it within the one year window you get once your application is accepted by PMI).

  4. 4 Sabah Hussain June 20, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    I should also add here that once I paid for the exam, my application was randomly selected for an audit. If this happens to you, don’t panic. If you’ve been honest in your application (which I am sure you will be), its a very simple procedure and I got through it within 4-5 days.

  5. 5 PMP June 21, 2009 at 11:04 am

    Now you can look forward to 60 PDUS. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. 6 Harwinder June 22, 2009 at 5:08 am

    Congrats, Sabah. It’s a great feeling, isn’t it?

  7. 8 madness July 23, 2009 at 10:44 am

    congrats Sabah, I cleared it on 25th June (yes, the day MJ died!) at AMIDEAST in Kuwait as well. One thing I would strongly recommend to all potential PMPs is to subscribe to PMP Best yahoo group as well as the PMP Exam Forum yahoo group. There are lots of pmps sharing their latest ‘lessons learnt’ there which will help you with your pmp preparations.

  8. 9 Ahsan Jehangir April 25, 2011 at 11:52 am

    Nice Blog ๐Ÿ™‚ what are you doing in these days ?

    Visit mine …


Leave a Reply

Who Am I?

A Pakistani living and working in Kuwait who enjoys movies, gadgets, photography, technology, cars and a good book. This blog is all about things that interest me and what is going on in My Life.

Latest Photos

IMAG0976_1

IMAG0974_1

IMAG0972_1



People standing in front of the Viva office after evacuation

More Photos

RSS Top Movies

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

My Bookmarks

Calendar Archives

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

