My dream cell phone

I had been thinking about a cell phone replacement for a while now and had just about made up my mind for the Nokia N95 8 GB when all of a sudden, everybody has started popping up with very interesting and noteworthy models. Now I’m totally confused and have no clue on what to get. They’re all pretty cool but due to the slew of features out there, I’m not sure which has the best combination.

Listen up cell phone manufacturers (especially Nokia and Sony Ericsson)! I’m going to list down my 20 points/expectations below (in no particular order) and you go to your labs and come back with my dream machine. The deadline is yesterday.

  1. 2.8″ – 3.0″ screen offering excellent display in the sun and all that – Nokia has set a good example here (must)
  2. Wi-fi connectivity (must)
  3. Blue-tooth connectivity (must)
  4. 5 MP camera with image stabilizer and xenon flash (must)
  5. 16 GB built-in memory (8 GB will also be entertained)
  6. Memory card slot (nice to have)
  7. Optical zoom (optional, but shouldn’t ruin the form)
  8. An efficient web browser and sufficient memory to cater to browsing activities (must)
  9. 3D graphics (must)
  10. GPS – this should work with maps as well as should geo-tag photos (must)
  11. Slide form is preferred. Don’t bother with flip-tops
  12. Touchscreen (not needed)
  13. Support for various video and audio formats (must)
  14. Intelligent searching for contacts – i-mate style (must)
  15. Regardless of what OS it runs, laggy performance is not acceptable and neither is crashing (must)
  16. FM transmitter (nice to have)
  17. Standard audio jack – I’m not going to fiddle around with adapters (must)
  18. Context sensitive interface (nice to have)
  19. Standard organizer applications – multiple and flexible alarm settings and an intuitive calculator (must)
  20. Physical dimensions should not be huge (e.g. Nokia Communicators, no thank you)
14 Responses to “My dream cell phone”


  1. 1 Top Seo Blog February 11, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    I too like that mobile and i can shell 10k for that..lolz….:)

  2. 2 umair azfar February 17, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    a good phone which gives crystal clear voice is good enough for me

  3. 3 faisalk February 23, 2008 at 1:01 am

    The requirements are gr8…but its gonna be seriously expensive.

  4. 4 Blake August 6, 2008 at 5:19 am

    I like your ideas, but I thought I might post some specifications of *my* dream cell phone! 🙂

    1. Similar form factor to Sidekick LX (the new Sidekick simply named “Sidekick” may be newer, but the form factor seems suckish.)As big a screen or larger, and same swivel design are a must.

    2. Very responsive touch screen

    3. Music player similar to the iTouch with standard audio jack.

    4. EV-DO 3G speeds.

    5. Wi-fi Connectivity (must)

    6. Bluetooth Connectivity (must)

    7. Full rubberized QWERTY Keyboard…This one is kindove a “duh” because of my #1 request.

    8. 5 MP Camera with image stabilizer and xenon flash. Camcorder is a must.

    9. Push Email. (must)

    10. Integrated GPS with GPS chip.

  5. 5 Sabah Hussain August 6, 2008 at 11:50 am

    Blake: Sounds great! I ended up going for the Sony Ericsson W960i for the time being (I know it contradicts some of my ‘musts’) and it seems within this year there will be better options available (the Xperia certainly looks impressive).

  6. 6 Hella August 22, 2008 at 5:11 am

    Hey,

    U can wait for a week or two and go for the Nokia N96

    Its got all u said with 16GB Internal Mem + Mem Slot (Upto 8GB)

    For All Specs..Visit http://www.nokia.co.in/n96

  7. 7 Sabah Hussain August 24, 2008 at 10:12 am

    Hella: Yeah, been hearing about this for a while. Sure looks good.

  8. 8 simply click the next site February 19, 2013 at 11:37 pm

    Hello, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in
    Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, terrific blog!

  9. 9 online superbowl betting July 6, 2013 at 3:21 pm

    Good article. I absolutely appreciate this site. Continue the good work!

  10. 10 cell phone July 9, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    Excellent items from you, man. I have take into accout your stuff prior to and you are
    simply too wonderful. I actually like what you have got right here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in
    which through which you assert it. You are making it entertaining and you continue to take care of to keep it wise.
    I can not wait to learn far more from you. That is really a tremendous
    web site.

  11. 11 buy breast actives July 12, 2013 at 1:10 am

    When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time
    a comment is added I get several emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Thanks a lot!

  12. 12 breast actives reviews before and after pictures July 16, 2013 at 2:43 am

    I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both
    educative and interesting, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy I stumbled across
    this during my search for something relating to
    this.

  13. 13 Elise September 6, 2014 at 5:36 pm

    I’m curious tto find outt what blog platform you happen tto be using?
    I’m expdriencing sokme small security prolblems wifh
    myy latest website andd I would like tto fiknd
    something more safeguarded. Do yoou have anny recommendations?


  1. 1 Nokia Unveils the N97 « My Life - Sabah Hussain Trackback on December 2, 2008 at 1:04 pm

Leave a Reply

Who Am I?

A Pakistani living and working in Kuwait who enjoys movies, gadgets, photography, technology, cars and a good book. This blog is all about things that interest me and what is going on in My Life.

Latest Photos

RSS Top Movies

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

My Bookmarks

Calendar Archives

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

