Amazing Millau Bridge – France

millau.jpg

Yesterday while I was watching an episode of Top Gear, they showed the Millau Bridge which is in France. This is a feat of engineering and takes passengers almost 1000 feet above the Tarn River valley across 1.6 miles.

Jeremy Clarkson humorously pointed out that while the French President spoke of how this is indicative of France’s move towards the future; he forgot to mention that is was designed by a British architect, Norman Foster.

Click the image below for a breath-taking view:

millau-viaduct.jpg

Note: I don’t own the images used in this blog and could not trace the actual owner for the due courtesy. This is for all the people asking me for higher resolution images and permissions.

18 Responses to “Amazing Millau Bridge – France”


  1. 1 elaine.ess October 9, 2007 at 6:46 pm

    mashallah! 9ij breathtaking!

  2. 2 Umair October 10, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    so so, i can make better models using lego

  3. 3 Zed October 11, 2007 at 1:48 pm

    kinda scary, don;t you think

  4. 4 Sabah Hussain October 12, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    Umair: Ummm… o k.

    Zed: Don’t know about scary, but it sure is amazing.

  5. 5 Al!Co December 19, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    it’s too interesting ^_^ I wonder to walk on it

  6. 6 Reinhard January 21, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Hi Sabah,
    the Millau Bridge picture, the large one with fog, ist fantasic. I am the owner of a smal agency designing web sites for companies.
    Is it possible to use your picture? Is there a larger version availible (what would be the maximum size?)
    Please let me know.
    Best Regards Reinhard

  7. 7 Sabah Hussain January 22, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    Reinhard: Please refer to my note at the end of the post.

  8. 8 Reinhard January 27, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    Hi Sabah,sorry, I did not see your note before. Thanks anyway. Best Regards Reinhard

  9. 9 thomas February 14, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    If you want to know details, ask the guys who did the detailed engineering: http://www.arcadis-fr.com
    After that, you don’t need to ask where the picture comes from.
    best regards!
    Thomas from arcadis germany

  10. 10 John April 17, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    What are the winds like when crossing the bridge? Can you bicycle across or walk? I assume mortorcycling is allowed.

  11. 11 Sabah Hussain April 18, 2008 at 9:11 am

    John: That’s an interesting question. I’ll definitely let you know once I visit. 🙂

  12. 12 Arina April 29, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    Thanks Thomas, for leaving your message. You got me on the right track in my hunt for the picture. Impressive engineering!
    Regards.

  13. 13 Patty April 30, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Why are there six columns with wires in the first picture but only two columns with wires in the panoramic photo? Is it still under construction in the panoramic shot? Or is it a different bridge?

  14. 14 Steve July 13, 2008 at 5:11 am

    Thanks for the blog page. The panoramic photo which you cannot attribute copyright to appears to be a scan from a newspaper.

    You can see the text from the other side of the page. By using a mirror, I think you could see (a) what language it is in and (b) what it says. I haven’t done the exercise though. It could also be from a magazine of course. But the flat, or matt finnish, rather than a glossy finnish, the apparent foldlines, and the paper being thin enough for the text on the other side to be discernable, all point to a newspaper.

  15. 15 web site September 17, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    Good day! Do you know if they make any plugins
    to assist with SEO? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords
    but I’m not seeing very good success. If you know of any please share.

    Kudos!

  16. 16 menage sur bordeaux September 21, 2014 at 12:22 pm

    I blog often and I genuinely appreciate your information. The article has truly peaked my
    interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new details about
    once per week. I opted in for your RSS feed too.


  1. 1 supplements hsa Trackback on December 14, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Leave a Reply

Who Am I?

A Pakistani living and working in Kuwait who enjoys movies, gadgets, photography, technology, cars and a good book. This blog is all about things that interest me and what is going on in My Life.

Latest Photos

IMAG0976_1

IMAG0974_1

IMAG0972_1



People standing in front of the Viva office after evacuation

More Photos

RSS Top Movies

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

My Bookmarks

Calendar Archives

October 2007
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

