Comtemplating DSL

For over a year now, I’ve been trying to avoid getting a DSL connection. However, I have finally realized that the amount I’m paying on dial-up plus for the stuff I buy (which can be downloaded) is almost at par to what I would pay if I just got DSL. Maybe I’m stretching it a little, but the convenience factor where I can simply get what I want when I want it also adds up. In addition to that, my internet usage from home has also increased now since I log in from home for a couple of hours ever day for work-related issues.

So, I started off on my quest to get all the facts and weigh all the pros and cons. Most people who know me will tell you that I’m really into this whole research thing whenever I get into something new. First of all I started off at the 248am Forum where there are a lot of knowledgeable and helpful folks. This is the thread that lead me to the conclusion that Quality Net’s 256 kpbs connection should be a good place to start.

Basically it costs KD.151/year if you pay one shot through their web portal. Feedback from some of the users suggests that I can average 1-2 GB worth of downloads/day and that is not bad. In fact it is way above my consumption rate.

You may check their DSL rates here (though I think it has some issues opening up in Firefox). Next thing I needed was the zero dues letter from the MOC (Ministry of Communication) on my telephone line. This lead me to a very useful post by CyberRowdy. Unfortunately, their website is dead at the moment so I simply requested the letter to be faxed to me by calling up on 123. Hopefully I’ll be going through with the application this week.

The next thing I need to do is stack up on space and I’m placing an order for this 500 GB Western Digital external drive.

3 Responses to “Comtemplating DSL”


  1. 1 S May 28, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    It’s all great and wonderful until your line, like mine, crashes.
    Then you get the ISP and MOC fighting to blame the other for the problem.
    See here…

  2. 2 Martha December 13, 2014 at 7:01 pm

    Wait, I cannot fathom it being so stwhtgaiforrard.


  1. 1 Contemplating DSL - no more « My Life - Sabah Hussain Trackback on August 14, 2007 at 10:04 am

Leave a Reply

Who Am I?

A Pakistani living and working in Kuwait who enjoys movies, gadgets, photography, technology, cars and a good book. This blog is all about things that interest me and what is going on in My Life.

Latest Photos

IMAG0976_1

IMAG0974_1

IMAG0972_1



People standing in front of the Viva office after evacuation

More Photos

RSS Top Movies

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

My Bookmarks

Calendar Archives

May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

