EXIF format

I’ve been reading my photography book and trying to follow the instructions to see what sort of results I get. One issue I faced was that while taking pictures I knew what values I set and it was ok to compare the result with the next image with different settings of aperture, shutter speed and ISO right then, however; later on when I reviewed the images on my PC I had no idea what values I had set. This could be resolved by writing down these values before taking each shot but come on, that is never going to happen since its just too much work.

Upon some research it turns out that most digital cameras save JPEG files with EXIF (EXchangeable Image File) data. This is exactly the information I needed to get the best out of my practice. I found this out was when FLICKR told me that my photos had been taken by a KODAK Z612 camera and even showed me all the settings I had made when I asked for details. I immediately right-clicked an image file and looked at the details and lo and behold there were all the values I wanted.

This is really cool information for me and there are also dedicated EXIF viewers that make the whole experience of comparing your photos more user-friendly. The EXIFPRO Image Viewer is one such viewer and can be downloaded here.

EXIF Wiki

Read more on the EXIF format here.

3 Responses to “EXIF format”


  1. 1 hair accessories April 18, 2013 at 7:50 pm

    As important as choosing the right summer
    2010 accessories is knowing what to wear the accessories with.
    They offer a great variety in terms of color and size.
    ‘ Always use ouchless hair accessories to pull hair back and band your hair.

  2. 2 fast track watches April 21, 2013 at 4:54 am

    Between them the frame info is only the differences between one and the next.
    The Roku is capable of streaming online audio from providers such
    as Pandora and MP3tunes and it can display pictures from Facebook and Flickr.

    Beautylish has created a community where people can go to find out information on products, watch video tutorials,
    view photos, share opinions and read the latest beauty articles and blogs.

  3. 3 Susannah April 24, 2013 at 6:25 am

    It worked for me and I feel it could give good results available for you
    very. Remember, it is the mighty commission dollar that keeps their homes warm at night.
    When we decided to buy we looked at our money and decided what we could afford for our home,
    this is easy to figure out but a book on first time home buying is always a good idea.


Leave a Reply

Who Am I?

A Pakistani living and working in Kuwait who enjoys movies, gadgets, photography, technology, cars and a good book. This blog is all about things that interest me and what is going on in My Life.

Latest Photos

RSS Top Movies

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

My Bookmarks

Calendar Archives

March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

