Word of the Day: Prepone

Recently I’ve been hearing ‘prepone’ a lot at work. I had never heard this word before though it didn’t take me too long to figure out what it means. For those still wondering, it is basically the opposite of postpone.

Anyhow, while writing an official email today I had the opportunity to use it myself and this is when I realized that it isn’t exactly an official word, since MS Word was flagging it as a misspelling. Some quick Googling revealed that it has its origins in India and is mostly used by South Asians (read respectively, here and here).

It also says that it is in the New Oxford Dictionary of English published in 1998, then why isn’t it in MS Word and other dictionary sites (even Google doesn’t recognize it as a proper word)?

Anyway, I think the word is very logical and makes perfect sense and kept it in my email.

2 Responses to “Word of the Day: Prepone”


  1. 1 language hat March 18, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    Just to let you know, many perfectly good words aren’t in the MS Word spellcheck — as an editor, I’ve frequently had occasion to be exasperated by that fact. (My rule for adding them to the custom dictionary is if they’re in Merriam-Webster or if they get over a million Google hits.) And prepone is in the Oxford English Dictionary, so it’s as official as a word can be.

  2. 2 Sabah Hussain March 18, 2007 at 7:17 pm

    language hat: Yeah, I’m just surprised its not in all dictionaries – but I suppose we’ll get there soon.


Leave a Reply

Who Am I?

A Pakistani living and working in Kuwait who enjoys movies, gadgets, photography, technology, cars and a good book. This blog is all about things that interest me and what is going on in My Life.

Latest Photos

RSS Top Movies

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

My Bookmarks

Calendar Archives

March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

