Scrabble Deluxe Edition

deluxe-scrabble.jpg

I’d love to get my hands on the Deluxe Turntable Edition of Scrabble. I was introduced to this game as a kid by my father and his friends. It was their favorite board game and as I grew up I was encouraged to participate as well. The game really helped my vocabulary but there is a risk where one ends up knowing many words but not really knowing them. In other words, you know its spelling but have little or no clue as to what it means. Personally, I made it a point to ensure that I knew what it meant and in what context it could be used (I think this played a big role in me getting a good score on the SAT Verbal test).

Unfortunately, it seems the current deluxe edition selling on Amazon isn’t a quality product if you go by the reviews. I remember the one my uncle had (the model from the 80s) and that was really something. So I’m wondering if I should get this but at the same time I bet its better than the standard edition. Its selling for $35 on Amazon, I’ll check if Sultan Centre has it and how their price compares.

This is a great family board game with a lot of potential for learning. Not only do you learn a lot of words, but you eventually learn to mentally jumble around letters to get different words and if you’ve played this game a while; you will notice yourself trying to make different words using the letters from the words you see on day to day things.

Image courtesy of Amazon.

Update: I would much rather get this one

2 Responses to “Scrabble Deluxe Edition”


  1. 1 Umair March 13, 2007 at 1:54 am

    dude, you should look into my warhammer blog for tabletop games

    thats going to be my next passion. But I’ll need to spend 80 euros just to get started :S. anyway, its something new and fun so am all for it

  2. 2 sabahkamal March 13, 2007 at 9:39 am

    Yeah I saw that; pretty interesting stuff. Personally, Risk is good enough for me when it comes to strategy board games. The tabletop variety you speak of is only for the hardcore fans with deep pockets. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Who Am I?

A Pakistani living and working in Kuwait who enjoys movies, gadgets, photography, technology, cars and a good book. This blog is all about things that interest me and what is going on in My Life.

Latest Photos

RSS Top Movies

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

My Bookmarks

Calendar Archives

March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

